Britney Spears Movie, Travesty

Over the weekend, I was able to watch the movie Britney Ever After. Britney Ever After is a biopic of the life of Britney Spears. This movie attempted to depict the pop icon’s rise and fall from stardom.  The movie literally begins her story at the launch of her career; shortly after signing her record deal and releasing her first album. The movie ends at the point when Britney’s career began to unravel; during the time when she had several public, emotional breakdowns, battles with substance abuse, and numerous trips to rehab.

Honestly, I thought this movie was horrible on every level. There are so many negative things I could say about this movie, but I won’t. I’m not at all surprised though. It was a Lifetime movie special. Almost every biopic aired by Lifetime, that I’ve seen, has been a travesty. Lifetime has aired movies about the life stories of superstars such as Whitney Houston, TLC, Aaliyah, Toni Braxton, and Anna Nicole Smith. Each of these biopics were absolutely, horrible. This baffles me because Lifetime generally airs great movies. I frequently have moments when nothing can ease my soul better than a great Lifetime movie. Why can’t Lifetime produce a decent biopic?

Leave a Reply

