Why Are Good Movies Good

I watched the most peculiar string of movies today. These movies are a part of a four-movie series which includes “Flowers in the Attic”, “Petals on the Wind”, “If there be Thorns”, and “Seeds of Yesterday”. This series is jammed packed with all types of crazy, sick, and depraved drama. Everything from incest, child abuse and neglect, betrayal, murder, misogyny, damaging family secretes, to deep rooted psychological issues. At one point during this series the plot was so outrageous that I could not believe what I was seeing. As crazy, sick, and depraved as this series was, I can honestly say that I truly enjoyed it. Why though? I do not live my life like this and I do not condone many of the things that happened over the course of this series. Why did I enjoy this series so much?

The content of these movies was very dark and twisted in nature, but I could not stop watching. Has anyone ever had this experience? Knowing that what you are watching is the epitome of sickness and depravity, yet you crave for more of it. Does this content speak to a sick and depraved nature within us? Maybe it speaks to our curiosity or some other fundamental aspect of our nature. Undoubtedly, movies are a source of entertainment. However, what is it about the content of movies that captivates us and induces our arousal.

Leave a Reply

